A Sobering Thought

We finally made it to Washington, D.C.  YAY!!!   The day we went, the sun rays were in the form of liquid but yet  we trudged on!   Mike and I took a bus tour from our resort we were vacationing at – only 2.5 hrs. away.  Our first stop was at the Jefferson Memorial and we got off the bus to step into a huge DEEP puddle of water…so our day started off with wet feet, wet clothes, wet hair, ummmm…pretty much everything got wet!  Believe me, we hurried inside to buy ponchos- but only after we were soaked!  Even with umbrellas, we got wet….it POURED!

Leaving the Jefferson Memoiral, we traveled to Arlington Cemetery – one of the places we definitely wanted to visit.  We have always wanted to visit the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and see the changing of the guard.  As we approached the time of this, the drizzle of rain became a downpour – holding nothing back – as the Changing of the Guard took place…Even though, the rain was deafening and we could not hear anything the soldier was saying, it still brought tears to our already wet face and a lump in the throat so big you couldn’t swallow.

I was standing there overcome with emotion but so angry and upset that it was raining! I was worried about my camera and not being able to hear and understand the ceremony…All of sudden….it was like I had an epiphany about where I was and what was really going on….In the midst of angry thoughts about how unfair it was that it was raining, my thoughts immediately changed in regards to our military and this soldier.  The Tomb is guarded everyday, in all kinds of weather by an exceptional  soldier who has volunteered for this duty, because he is proud to honor all Americans who have paid the ultimate sacrifice for freedom.   Why in the world would I think it had to be a certain way, to witness this wonderful ceremony and what it represents?  Talking about selfishness!  Geeze!  I was full of selfishness that day…not that I am proud of that by any means!

As I was in the middle of my epiphany, I began to cry.  I have  a brother-in-law and a good friend in the Air Force, a good friend in the Army, a young man I have known since he was a child, in the Navy….they don’t get to choose the weather when they protect our country,  you and me- our freedom…They are ready at a moment’s notice and they make the best of any situation…They have one goal in mind- and nothing else matters.

While standing there with this sobering thought, the Changing of the Guard at that Unknown soldier’s tomb, made me more thankful for our military than ever before…The fact that serving in the military gives no place to selfishness……they take an oath to protect our country at any cost.  Standing in that cemetery, I realized the cost has been and still is VERY high….I am so grateful for those who have fought for our country and what she stands for..for those who are giving of themselves right now and for those who will give tomorrow.

Should I have the opportunity to visit this cemetery again, rain, shine, snow, sleet, wind, hail, whatever….I will stand tall with pride for those who have given so selflessly of themselves for my freedom… Thank you!

Leave a comment