It’s All Good!

One week ago, my dad had a stress test.  He suffered a mild heart attack in 1998 so these are routine.  At the very end of the stress test, a restriction showed up on the lower part of his heart but he had no pain.. On Wednesday of this week he underwent a heart cath to see what was going on.  At best we thought he may have to have a stint.  However, we weren’t quite prepared for the news we received – bypass surgery.  The doctor said that the good news was his heart muscle was very strong and showed no signs of a previous heart attack.  The bad news – his arteries were severely diseased.  Due to the severity and the location of all the blockages, the only option was bypass surgery- 4-6 bypasses necessary.  Needless to say, we were somewhat speechless in the fact that we weren’t prepared for that news; honestly, it was never even a thought.  They immediately put Dad in the hospital and said he could not leave until he had the surgery.  The Red Cross brought my sister and her family home from England the next day, Thursday- and Friday, yesterday- Dad had surgery.

Why wasn’t I worried to death?  Well, I believe that God will prepare us for things to come…The last few weeks, God has given me such joy and peace that it is really hard to explain.       The Lord had prompted my mother to pray and fast one meal each day for six weeks at the end of July.  She didn’t know why, but was obedient and felt that wonderful peace upon completion.  She knew that God was preparing her for something but did not know what.

Once we heard the news about dad’s surgery, it was a peace moment.  We knew that God was/is in control and our trust level was at a maximum.  When I left dad on Wednesday evening after talking with the surgeon, I looked at my Dad and said, “It’s gonna be ok, Daddy.”  He looked at me and said, “yes it will.  Either way, it is gonna be alright.”  I started to protest and tell him not to think negatively, but this is what came out of my mouth…”Yes, you’re right…and if God should take you home, I WILL see you again!”  It was a great moment between me and Dad… AND, I still had all the joy and that wonderful peace that I have been feeling for weeks now.  There is absolutely nothing that compares to God’s peace.

Friday morning Dad had surgery….it could not have gone better.  Only 4 bypasses were needed and there were no complications.  Today, he is in a regular room, with lots of blood flowing to his heart, hugging his ‘heart’ pillow and getting ready to walk tonight.    What is this blog about?  God’s faithfulness. God’s preparation for things to come.  God’s timing.  The doctor couldn’t understand why he had not had a massive heart attack, but I understand…but God.

There will be rough days ahead and many complications could occur, but God is in control.  I trust Him. I know my Dad trusts Him.  Oh how He loves you and me!   Thank you God, for Your joy and Your peace.

Leave a comment